BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES CHANNAHON SCHOOL DISTRICT 17 WILL COUNTY, ILLINOIS

PIONEER PATH SCHOOL Executive Session-5:30pm Regular Board Meeting – 7:00pm Tuesday March 20, 2017

President Pope made a motion to go into Regular Session at 7:00pm, motion by Pat Clower, second by Julie Bankes.

Present: Joe Pope, Derek Breen, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Dee Foreman and Mistey Kosek. Absent: None

President Pope led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Others Present: Chad Uphoff, Susan Kavich, Mary Kelly, Laura DuBois, Jeremy McBrayer, Ares Dalianis, Ted Martin, Bill Stonitsch, Dan Nyalka, Pam Lasinis, Stephan Lasinis, and Liddy Foreman.

President Pope inquired if there was public comment. Dan Nyalka wished President Pope a Happy Birthday.

President Pope entertained a motion to approve the Consent Agenda with *amended change*. Motion by Derek Breen, second by Pat Clower.

Consent Agenda

Approve Personnel Report Approve February 21, 2017 Regular Board Meeting Minutes, and Executive Minutes Approve Treasurer's Report Approve Treasurer's Financial Report Authorize Treasurer to Pay Board Bills Listed Authorize Destruction of *Audio Recording* of September 28, 2015 Closed Minutes

Roll Call: Derek Breen, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, and Dee Foreman

Abstained: Joe Pope

All yeas, nays none. Motion passes.

President Pope turned the meeting over to Superintendent, Nicholas Henkle.

Mr. Henkle introduced Ares Dalianis who gave an update on the Venture One IGA.

Mr. Henkle recommended the board authorize the renewal contacts for part-time, first, second, and third year teachers. President Pope entertained a motion to authorize the renewal contacts

for part-time, first, second, and third year teachers. Motion by Pat Clower, second by Mistey Kosek. Motion passes

Roll Call: Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, Dee Foreman, and Derek Breen.

Abstain: Joe Pope

Part-Time Non-Tenured Contracts: Mary Smith TRS McMillin Dawn CJH **First Year Full-Time Non-Tenured Contracts:** Misch Michelle TRS Emily Kath PP Ehrin Krueger PP Kathleen Frain NBG Cathy Pettigrew PP/NBG Carrie DeCaprio NBG Heather Emanuelson TRS/CJH Jessical Kostal TRS Second Year Full-Time Non-Tenured Contracts: Shannon Patula CJH Maura Krakowski CJH Kiley Sommers CJH Leslie Williamson PP Bridget Gohacki PP Mary Doody NBG **Third Year Full-Time Non-Tenured Contracts:** None

Mr. Henkle recommended the board award re-employment and tenure status to:

Cheri Peterson CJH Kendra Hills TRS

President Pope entertained a motion to award re-employment and tenure status to the above Teachers. Motion by Joe Pope, second by Derek Breen.

Roll Call: Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, Dee Foreman, Derek Breen, Joe Pope and Joan Ferguson. All yeas, nays none motion passes

Mr. Henkle recommended the board approve the Wage Rate Scale changes as listed:

Substitute Teacher Wage: \$112.00/day Building Level Technician: \$12.00/hr. Certified Health Aide: \$12.00/hr.

President Pope entertained a motion to approve the Wage Rate Scale with changes. Motion by Joe Pope, second by Joan Ferguson.

Roll Call: Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, Dee Foreman, Derek Breen, Joe Pope, Joan Ferguson, and Julie Bankes. All yeas, nays none motion passes.

Mr. Henkle recommended as discussed in executive session to approve a 5% increase for support staff for the 2017-2018 school year, including a 0.50/hr. increase for the Administrative Assistant (Superintendent) salary. President Pope entertained a motion to approve the 5% increase for

support staff for the 2017-2018 school year, including a 0.50/hr. increase for the Administrative Assistant (Superintendent) salary. Motion by Joe Pope, second by Joan Ferguson.

Roll Call: Mistey Kosek, Dee Foreman, Derek Breen, Joe Pope, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, and Pat Clower. All yeas, nays none motion passes.

Mr. Henkle recommended the board approve the following Administrator Increases for the 2017-2018 plus TRS school year. President Pope entertained a motion to approve the following Administrator Increases for the 2017-2018 plus TRS school year. Motion by Joe Pope, second by Joan Ferguson. All yeas, nays none motion passes.

Laura DuBois \$85,000+TRS (Market Correction) Brad Homerding \$72,663.41+TRS Mary Kelly \$82,000+TRS (Market Correction) Chad Uphoff \$114,568.96+TRS Jeremy McBrayer \$87,150+TRS

Roll Call: Dee Foreman, Derek Breen, Joe Pope, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, and Mistey Kosek.

Mr. Henkle recommended the board approve the Technology Director Salary for the 2017-2018 school year, as discussed in closed session. President Pope entertained a motion to approve the Technology Director Salary for the 2017-2018 school year. All yeas, nays none motion passes

David Bergstrom \$85,000

Roll Call: Derek Breen, Joe Pope, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, and Dee Foreman.

Mr. Henkle recommended the board approve as discussed in closed session, the retirement contact for Mr. Michael Schroeder commencing July 1, 2017 to August 5, 2021. This contract supersedes and replaces the existing contract effective July 1, 2017. President Pope entertained a motion to approve the new contract commencing July 1, 2017 to August 5, 2021. Motion by Joe Pope, second by Joan Ferguson. Motion passes.

Roll Call: Yeas – Joe Pope, Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, and Mistey Kosek Nays – Derek Breen and Pat Clower.

Mr. Henkle introduced Jeremy McBrayer and Laura DuBois, who gave a presentation on FY17 summer enrichment programs. The board instructed staff to bring back for action at the April 24, 2017 board meeting.

Mrs. DuBois shared with the board Art Calendars made by Mrs.Verbic classes, and publish by the Channahon Fire Department.

President Pope turned the meeting over to Michael Schroeder.

Mr. Schroeder presented the board the history on Levy reduction actions taken in past years. Mr. Schroeder solicited direction for the 2016-2017 Levy. The board has directed Mr. Schroeder to investigate rebating funds back to district homeowners. Mr. Schroeder will bring back further information after the fall audit. President Pope entertained a motion to rebate funds back to district homeowners. Motion by Derek Breen, second by Joan Ferguson, motion passes.

Roll Call: Joan Ferguson, Julie Bankes, Pat Clower, Mistey Kosek, Dee Foreman, Joe Pope, and Derek Breen.

Other matters by the Board - none

Adjournment

President Pope entertained a motion to adjourn at 8:40pm. Motion by Joan Ferguson, second by Julie Bankes. All yeas, nays none motion passes.

Respectfully submitted by: LouAnn Whalen

Joseph Pope – President

Joan Ferguson - Secretary